Location: Jalan Tuban-Gresik, Brondong, Sedayulawas, Lamongan Regency, East Java 62263
Folder: Click here
Open and close: 24 hours
Who doesn’t know the popular novel by Buya Hamka entitled Tenggelamnya Kapal Van Der Wijk. Apart from his legendary novel, his film has also received a very good response from Indonesian film lovers.
The film ‘The sinking of the Van Der Wijk Ship’ was played very nicely by well-known Indonesian actresses – Herjunot Ali and Pevita Pierce, so that the sad story of the love between Zainudin and Hayati is increasingly recognized by today’s generation.
Is there a connection between the novel and the Van Der Wijk monument in Lamongan? The direct relationship is certainly not because the story is only fictitious, but the sinking of the Van Der Wijk Lamongan ship is non-functional or it actually happened.
The Van Der Wijk monument was deliberately erected by the Dutch colonial government to commemorate the story of the Van Der Wijk shipwreck in the waters of Lamongan.
Apart from commemorating, the existence of the monument is a form of gratitude to the people of Lamongan by the Dutch because when the disaster occurred, the people of Lamongan sincerely helped in various types of assistance.
Van Der Wijk is a steam ship belonging to KPM (Koninklijke Paketvaart Maatschappij) which at that time provided shipping routes in the waters of the Dutch East Indies territory. This company is the origin of the establishment of PELNI (Indonesian National Shipping).
This ship was built in 1921 in Rotterdam by Maatschappij Fijenoord. The Van der Wijk ship weighs 2,596 tons with a width of 13.5 m.
The Van der Wijk ship has the nickname “de meeuw” or “The Seagull” due to its calm and elegant shape and appearance.
For the last voyage, this ship took the Bali – Semarang route and stopped first in Surabaya.
On 20 Oct 1936 to be precise on Selasi day, this ship sank while sailing in lamongan waters about 12 ml from Brondong Beach area.
The total number of passengers is 226, consisting of 187 Indigenous people and 39 residents of European nationalities. For the crew, there are 1 captain, 1 telegraphic, 1 steward, 11 officers, 5 assistants on the ship and there are 80 native crew members.
In this tragedy, there are several versions of the number of victims in that fateful incident. On the Wikipedia page, it is said that if the Van Der Wijk ship killed 4 people and 49 people were not found, they were most likely carried by the waves in the ocean.
According to Theshiplist.com, 58 people were killed. Meanwhile, according to Koran De Telegraaf which was published on 22 Oct 1936, it was explained that the number of missing victims was 42 people.
Van Der Wijk is the name of the Governor General of the Dutch East Indies who ruled from 17 October 1893 to 3 October 1899.
His appointment was directly chosen by Queen Emma van Waldeck-Pymont. He has a full name, namely Carel Herman Aart van der Wijk.
The location of the Van Der Wijk monument is behind the gate that leads to the Port and TPI (Fish Auction Place) of Brondong or to be precise in the office yard of Perum Prasana Perikanan Samudra, Brondong Branch,
The shape of the monument resembles a coastal lookout post with a height of up to 15 meters. The colors of the monument are mostly blue and yellow. There are some parts of the monument walls where the paint is peeling off and looks a little dull.
Here there are two inscriptions located on the east and west of the monument wall made of iron plates. The writing in the inscription is in 2 languages, namely Dutch and Indonesian.
The eastern inscription reads’ Martinus Jacobus Uytermerk Radiotelegrafist Aan Boord SS ,, Van Der Wijck 20 October 1936 Hij Bleeef Getrouw Tot In Den Dood Zijn Nagedachtenis Zijeere. Zijne Vrienden ‘.
Meanwhile, the inscription in the western part reads ‘Warning Signs of the Head of Penoeloeng-Penoeloeng Waktoe Sinking the Ship “VAN DER WIJCK DDO” 19-20 October 1936’.
The address of the monument is quite close to the main road, not only the route to TPI or Pleabuhan but also to or the North Coast Lamongan highway.
However, due to the unavailability of a signpost leading to the Van Der Wijk Monument, some people who do not know think it is just an ordinary building included in the office area
many lay people consider the monument as part of the Perum Prasana Perikanan Samudra office building.
This is a silent witness to the history of how the tragic story of the sinking of the Van Der Wijk ship which is still standing today.
Entrance Ticket Prices and Facilities
The facilities provided here are standard in a tourist spot, namely the parking area and toilets. You don’t need to worry because the parking space is quite spacious and comfortable.
The visitors who come are usually history lovers and vintage photo hunters. The entrance ticket itself is free and is open for 24 hours.