Location: Jalan Candi 5D, Karangwidoro, Dau, Malang City, East Java 65146
Maps: Click Here
HTM: IDR 10,000 per person
Open and close: 24 hours
Malang has a historical and cultural side that is not much different from most areas in Java.
One of them is the existence of a temple as evidence of heritage since ancient times, from the time of the Hindu kingdom to ancient Mataram.
One of the temples that can be enjoyed in Malang is Candi Badut, where the object has a very close acculturation style with other temples in East Java and other areas of Java.
This can be seen from the many articles regarding the research and excavation process of the Badut temple.
Know Your Location
This cultural and historical tourism area of Badut Temple is located in the middle of residential and residential areas.
If you want to enjoy the other side of the Badut temple, visitors must enter a small alley. Even though it is narrow, it is guaranteed that no one will think that this road has historical relics that have high historical value.
Badut Temple itself is known as a relic of Hinduism and is the oldest temple in the city of Malang Apple.
This temple, which has characteristics like Wurung Temple in Magelang, is administratively located in the Karang Besuki area, Karang Widoro, Dau District, Malang Regency, East Java.
This temple stands on an area of 2808 m2 and is surrounded by Mount Kawi in the south, Mount Arjuna in the west, Mount Tengger in the north and Mount Semeru in the east.
According to stories and explanations, the Badut Tidar temple is reportedly surrounded by a high fence. And now, the historical site with typical Hindu style remains only the foundation.
Many good stories from the official website of the Malang government to Wikipedia who reviews the historical tourist area.
The building built by the king was made of andhesite stone with a sketch of the plan from archaeologists in the shape of 4 square and has a size of about 17.27 mx 14.04 m while the height reaches 8 m.
According to the summary journal, this temple is the oldest facing west. It was built in 760 AD.
At the beginning of its discovery, this temple was in the ground and is located on Jalan Candi 5D which was once filled with large trees and was a rice field area.
At that time EW Mauren Brechter find these historical legends. If you look at the photos and pictures when they were first discovered, the condition of this site is very sad.
According to the story, the former reliefs had been carried out before restoration, namely in 1925 to 1926 and then carried out in 1990-1991.
Judging from the shape of the building and its function, there are several relics such as inscriptions, durga statues, agastya and phallus yoni. This further proves that the Hindu style is the basis of the Badut Temple.
While the structure and architecture of this building consists of legs, body and roof. At the front there are steps leading to the booth.
Previously there was also Tuesday Pradaksi napatha, which is a place to surround the building area with a path from the left to the right.
On the body, it looks fatter with the entrance decorated with kalamakara, an art from Central Java. Meanwhile, in the room there are already phallus and yoni.
History of Origins
Judging from the science and architecture, this building is a style of cultural transition originating from Central Java to East Java.
This is also proof of the process of moving the center from kingdoms in Central Java to the east.
Not only that, this temple is also closely related to the news of the movement of the Holing kingdom to the east in 740 AD.
And it also means that the king of the Sanjaya dynasty moved to the east because the Sailendra dynasty continued to press.
The area addressed by Sanjaya’s office was of course Malang. It is not surprising that many temples were later built here, such as Jago, Kidal to Badut temples.
This place is also a legacy from the Kanjuruhan government, which was in the Dinoyo area on the northwest side of Malang).
The founder of this building can be seen with the Dinoyo inscription in 760 AD or 682 Saka.
This inscription itself uses a stone with Kawi script, as well as Sanskrit. Here the name of the founder is mentioned and also the profile of the historical relic.
At that time the king, Dewa Simha, had a son named Limwa. Limwa had a daughter Uttejana who later married Jananeya.
This Limwa eventually succeeded his father and had the title Gajayana. During his reign, the historic building was built on the 1st Kresnapaksa month of Margas Audience 682 Saka or 28 November 760 AD.
The statues here were later ordained by priests from the Kanjuruhan kingdom who understood the Veda scriptures which were followed by sthapaka ascetics and the people.
On this occasion, the king also gave land, cows to buffalo and male and female slaves to guard or fulfill all the needs of the priests.
These needs include places of worship, purification, and resting areas for visitors. It also mentions the sacred phallus.
Here there is a phallus with the insignia of the Dinoyo inscription which has been secured or kept at the Jakarta Central Museum.
The process of the first discovery by EW Maurenbrechter in 1923 only consisted of rubble and soil.
This area used to be a complex with a high wall fence. And the main building area itself is not in the center of the courtyard.
At the main entrance to the west there is already a Kalamakara ornament. This building consists of legs, body and roof. For the leg area there is a lower frame, body of the leg and upper frame.
In the Lower frame area there is a flat cheek area. Then there is also the arrangement of flat and plain bricks. While at the front there are stairs to the booth and around with pradakasinaptha.
The inner area is a little bigger and taller. There is a typical Central Javanese architectural style in it. While in the southern staircase there is also Kinara-Kinari.
In the area on three sides, there are niches in which there is a statue of Durga in the north and a guru or Agastya in the south.
Meanwhile, the eastern part has been lost or destroyed. Then in the area on the left and right of the entrance there are also small niches where there are Mahakala and Nandiswara.
And there are already decorative flower patterns around the niche. Unfortunately, the roof of this building has been destroyed so that it cannot be seen in full.
This reconstruction process is published in an OV 1929 summary where there is a drawing of a roof consisting of 2 levels with a conical shape.
The ornament here has an antefix shape. While on the front, there is already a trace of a small base with the name Perwara Temple.
Access to the Karangwidoro area
For tourists who want to visit Badut Temple, they can use private vehicles and public transportation. Please pay attention to the instructions properly. Because the road to the temple is quite small and vague.
Can also use applications Google map which will present a map or plan leading to this historical tourist area.
To visit this Badut Temple, there is no entry ticket price. The tourists can freely enter this historical area for free.
Of course it provides interesting experiences and gets deeper knowledge about historical and cultural objects in Malang.